Three Fatty-Bo-Batties

Three fatty-bo-batties working on being skinny-minnies

  • Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 12,540 hits
  • Visitors

  • free web stats
  • May 2009
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Archive for May 19th, 2009

Fatty 1 – Intermittent Fasting – Week 4

Posted by actingchick on May 19, 2009

So things are going along fine.  No big surprises, no big changes.  Lost another half pound.  I suspect I might have lost more than that, but my official weigh in day was the day after I ran my first 5K race.  I think my poor inflamed muscles are retaining some water as inflamed muscles like to do.

I finished the race in under 38 minutes.  I didn’t run fasted, but made sure I ate before hand a light meal.  I was worried that it might be hard to run 5K with food (and it was),  and wasn’t confident on how I would feel without eating.

After the race, the sponsors had a continental breakfast.  Lots of high carb fare, which I have been going without the past two weeks since I’ve gone paleo.

They had muffins and bagels cut in half, yogurt, fruit, and cheese, along with an assortment of juices.  I thought I would have some fruit, along with some cheese and yogurt, since those were really the only protein sources.  Then I thought hell, I’ve just run the longest ever, I’m going to treat myself to half a muffin, so I did.

I sat down at my table and took two bites.  It was so sweet tasting I couldn’t eat it.  I ate my cheese stick and my orange slices, and then I thought I’d have some yogurt.  It was your standard low fat strawberry with lots of sugar.  It too was too sweet.  I couldn’t eat it either.

I went back and grabbed half a bagel and smothered it in cream cheese.  That was fine, and I ate it, and it was good.  But the muffin and the yogurt were unpalatable.  My taste buds have adapted that quickly to the lower sugar.

I have been eating vanilla yogurt, but it is whole  milk with cream on top (yum!), and sweetened with maple syrup.  It tastes a little sweet, but not like the low fat stuff.  To make you want to eat it the low fat stuff, they replace the fat they took out with sugar.  When you are used to eating a ton of sugar, you don’t notice. Take two weeks of from sugar, and you’ll notice.

I guess that’s a good sign.  I’m adapting to this paleo thing.  I still miss eating bread buy mostly that’s because I miss eating sandwiches.  I made some paleo bread.  It’s actually not bad, but it is very dense.  I think I’m going to try and add some baking powder or something to lighten it up just a bit and see how that goes.  Maybe reduce the oil by half and add in some almond milk.

If it works I will post the recipe.

Posted in diet, exercise, fitness, weight loss, weightloss | Tagged: , , , , , | Leave a Comment »